RSS

Guild Wars 2 Farming And Gaining Money

19 Jun

There are a lot of interesting perspectives here. I am not a farmer. I’m a relatively casual player, and I mostly enjoy exploring and getting into big events from time to time. However, I would like to be able to get the better gear, since at higher levels, and certainly for dungeons and epic meta events, it’s pretty much necessary to keep from dying every thirty seconds.But, I don’t farm, and I certainly don’t do the same stupid event over and over for hours upon hours.But, what I am finding is that unless one does that kind of mat and event farming, they will NEVER have the means to obtain any of the decent gear.

And what I see is that in an attempt to prevent farmers from farming, Arena Net is making it IMPOSSIBLE for those of us who don’t farm to ever enjoy having a decent set of armor or weapons.Look, Anet…I LOVE this game…but farmers are going to farm, and there is nothing you can do about it that is not going to make the game absolutely intolerable for those of us who don’t farm. I have a hard enough time making money in real life, I don’t want to have to struggle to survive and make ends meet in my fantasy life, as well.

If that is going to be the case, I’ll stop playing and get a book from the library where I can enjoy a rich fantasy, that doesn’t stress me out about not having enough gold to buy that armor I want, or enough materials to make that weapon I want.I think I am like most people in that I don’t want to have to play 4 hours a day, every day, for the next 5 years in order to get one piece of Exotic gear. I don’t want to spend the rest of my life trying to obtain a full set of exotic gear. And I have given up all hope of ever having a legendary weapon, since even when I do play for extended hours, (and I tried this out for 3 weeks straight…playing roughly 8-12 hours a day, every day), the most I was ever able to accumulate was 12 gold…this was extremely disappointing).

To be honest, who the hell cares if someone is out spending hours of their day running the same events over and over again?Their reward for doing so is having a pile of guild wars 2 gold and a ton of awesome gear. Good for them. The price they pay is that they don’t enjoy experiencing the rest of the world of the game. So be it. It’s no longer a game for them, it’s work. I don’t want my game time to be work time…it ceases to be fun at that point.

The solution is NOT to nerf the one or two events that are actually profitable. A better solution is to make ALL the events MODERATELY profitable, (and less costly to both get there and repair afterward), and interesting, so that people will be enticed to engage in many events, rather than just the one or two.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2014 in Guild Wars 2 Gold

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
