RSS

Guild Wars 2 A whole new world

03 Jun

On April 15th Guild Wars 2 got its first feature pack, as packed with features as advertised. After the first day or so of trying to figure out where our town clothes disappeared to, it’s becoming clear how much has changed: There’s a lot more to take in and adjust to than might be immediately apparent.

The experience for new GW2 characters has changed so much that I rolled up yet another alt post-patch to try it out. That was my plan all along, and I didn’t do it because I just bought another character slot and didn’t have an Asura yet. I chose a profession that’s known for being less fun without traits, so I could see what it’s like to not have them before level 30. It was not because I wanted another Engineer and already have two Necromancers, two Guardians, and two Mesmers.

It was also necessary to use a total makeover kit for legitimate data-gathering purposes. Aww, look how cute he is! I can use all of my unlocked dyes on him, and dress him up in outfits, and — right, down to business.

Any characters created before the feature pack release still operate under the old system and will have their traits automatically unlocked at the appropriate levels. Characters created after the release will have a bit more legwork to do while leveling up; the good news is that ArenaNet has given enemies in the open world a balance pass to account for traits being less accessible. Swapping critical damage percentage for the new Ferocity stat has also resulted in characters doing a bit less damage across the board, but it doesn’t make much of a difference in leveling content. If you do get killed, at least you won’t have to shell out silver for repairs any more!

After rolling my brand-new sharktoothed flopears, the first thing I did was to cheat. I dug into my hoard of experience scrolls and tomes of knowledge to boost myself to level 30, which gave me the freedom to move around a variety of maps past the starter zones. Level 30 is also the new threshold for unlocking the trait system.

I’ve already discussed the changes to the cosmetic system at length, but it’s worth noting that outfits are a really good way to cover up doofy lowbie gear without needing to spend transmutation charges. I appreciate them for guild wars 2 gold, especially since the Bloody Prince costume makes my Asura look like he should be doing some heavy ’90s-era World of Darkness LARPing. I dig that aesthetic.

 
 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
